
STATE OF TEXAS § 

§ 
COUNTYOFFANNIN § 

DISASTER DECLARATION RELATED TO RISK OF WILDFIRES 

WHEREAS, in accordance with provision of Section 418.108 of the Texas 
Government Code, the Fannin County Judge has found that circumstances present in all 
or part of Fannin County create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by 
outdoor burning; and 

WHEREAS, Fannin County is experiencing unusual high winds that are creating 
extremely dry conditions; and 

WHEREAS, these dry conditions pose the threat of large, dangerous and fast­
moving wildfires; and 

WHEREAS, such fires have the potential of endangering lives and damaging 
property on a large scale; and 

WHEREAS, the Texas Government Code Chapter 418 gives the county judge the 
power to declare a local disaster within the county "if the threat of disaster is imminent"; 
and 

WHEREAS, the magnitude of the potential damage and the rapidity with which 
such a fire could escalate to major proportions constitute an imminent threat of disaster; 
and 

WHEREAS, declaration of such disaster authorizes the imposition of controls on 
activities which tend to increase the likelihood of fires; and 

WHEREAS, such controls, once implemented, have the potential of protecting lives 
and property by mitigating the threat of dangerous fires; and 

WHEREAS a declaration of such public safety hazard authorizes the imposition of 
controls on activities which tend to increase the likelihood of such fires; and 

WHEREAS, a declaration issued under Section 418.108 of the Texas Government 
Code may include a prohibition on burning within the county; and 

WHEREAS, a local disaster declaration expires no more than seven days after its 
issuance, unless the commissioners court consents to its renewal or continuance; and 



BE IT THEREFORE PROCLAIMED that I, Newt Cunningham, County Judge of 
Fannin County, declare a local state of disaster based on the threat of large wildfires in 
Fannin County, Texas. 

BE IT ALSO PROCLAIMED that this state of disaster will continue until rescinded 
or stated below in accordance with the above cited statute, but in no instance will this 
declaration continue for more than seven days without being authorized by the County 
Commissioners Court. 

BE IT ALSO PROCLAIMED that the purpose of this order is the mitigation of the 
hazard posed by wildfires by curtailing the practice of outdoor burning, which purpose is 
to be taken into account in any enforcement action based upon this order. 

BE IT THEREFORE ORDERED THAT OUTDOOR BURNING IS PROHIBITED IN 
FANNIN COUNTY, TEXAS FOR SUCH TIME AS LISTED BELOW. 

BE IT ALSO PROCLAIMED that a violation of this Disaster Declaration is 
punishable as a Class C misdemeanor by a fine not to exceed $500.00 or as authorized by 
Government Code §418.173 and if adopted in the county's emergency plan by a fine not 
to exceed $1,000.00 or confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days, whichever is 
greater. 

This declaration shall be promptly publicized and filed with the County Clerk. 

WITNESS WHEREOF, I affix my signature this ~ day ofK)(N\~ , 201S at 

/ \ 1-. :-\;1 pm, ~d declare this Declaration of Disaster to be in effect immediately upon signing, 

and terminate ~m Saturday, March 22, 2025 at 12:00 midnight. 

ewt Cunningham, Fannin County Judge 

--~--=-..;.· __ "'ll'~ .... k y.=,.-=,j'"--'(\..........,_{m.,_,t l'd:, ..... l\,)...,._ __ ~....,IY\....,_,, ____ Jenny Garner, Fannin County Clerk 


